Kindness Is Free…

It was my 3rd lap around the track, my eyes focused where they always did, straight at the ground… because this time I had company. A group of college-aged “boys,” all fit and healthy and doing sprints, I guessed practicing for future track and field competitions, but I didn’t know. On any normal day, if I’d seen my track company I’d have turned right around and went back home, but this time I somehow mustered up all of the courage I didn’t really have and began my workout, staying on the far outside lane willing myself to become as invisible as possible. I had decided walking on the track was the better alternative as the night before I’d woggercized out on the road and had 2, count them, TWO, not the usual one, different cars full of rowdy 20-somethings roll down their windows, honk their horns for 20 minutes and catcall at me. The negative judgement on my outward appearance, having not the slightest idea of me, the person, made me want to crawl into a hole and bunker down for the millenium. I’m used to it… or I tell myself I should be used to it. I get stares and points and comments all of the time… words and looks that chip away at the little bit of self-confidence I have left.

But I tell this not for pity… I know I’m not alone… I know there are people who experience things like this on a scale far higher than I can ever fathom… I tell this because as I was rounding my 3rd lap staring at the ground and trying to avoid all eye contact with my group of “fit boys,” one of them went out of his way to show me he saw a person with thoughts and feelings and dreams and struggles, just like him. He crossed the track into my line of sight, put his hand up for me to give him a high five and simply said, “You rock!”

I was taken aback… I didn’t know how to react at first… this was new… it made me feel like a worthwhile human being… and we can’t have that. My smile was wide as I thanked him and continued on my way… but this time with a little extra pep in my step, tears welling in my eyes. Kindness made all the difference. Thank you “fit” track boy… you have no idea what a boost you gave to me when I really needed it… It cost him nothing and made this stranger’s faith in humanity a little bit stronger. You rock, fit boy! Be kind… it’s free!

Fullscreen capture 9182017 80152 AM

Fullscreen capture 9182017 80422 AM

19 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Uncategorized

19 responses to “Kindness Is Free…

  1. dessawade@gmail.com

    Thank you fit boy from the bottom of a mother’s heart. Your mother must have taught you well. Keepon keepin on Whit!

  2. Amber

    It brings tears to my eyes too, I am so grateful that you have the courage to share your experiences, that takes real strength and hopefully we can all be more kind because of you. Thanks Whitney.

    • Thank you, Amber! I have been meaning to find you and tell you how sorry I was to hear of the loss of your sweetest grandpa. I don’t have to tell you he was a gem, and will be missed dearly… but I’m also so glad he’s now reunited with your grandma. Big hugs sent your way.

  3. He’s just telling the truth. You DO rock! And beautifully written. Thank you. I appreciate people like that young man. I have those kind thoughts in my head but fail to express them too many times, afraid of bothering someone, interrupting them, worried I will come across wrong, or just myself too introverted/shy. Yeah fit boy!

    • Amen, Alene and thank you for your kind words!! I too am bit by the shy/introverted bug and don’t often voice the kind thoughts I may have in my head space. Another thing to work on!

  4. cl2

    This is just what I needed to see today. It also brought tears to my eyes.

  5. Louisa

    First of all…great job doing laps on the track.
    I have tried that before and just get so darn bored. Same thing with a treadmill….ugh!
    I prefer walking through town. The scenery is always changing so I don’t get bored…or I can change up my route.
    I am so glad that young man felt compelled to tell you, YOU ROCK!
    You do! It’s nice to get the validation once in awhile.

    • I agree with you on the track walking/treadmill boredom, Louisa! This track happens to be outside and there is some pretty scenery surrounding it, so it helps… but indoor tracks are the bane of life! Hope you and yours are doing well.

  6. Avster

    Whenever I’m out driving and see someone out woggersizing I always pray for them and ask God to give them the courage and determination to keep going and not to focus on what the people driving/walking by may think. πŸ™‚

    But yes, Whit, you do indeed rock! As I keep telling you… the only thing wrong with you is that you’re not left handed! :b

    • See that’s sweet to think of that… when I see someone running/woggercizing/biking, etc., I’m always like, YOU GO, PEOPLE… As for this left-handed nonsense, I will have to work on that! πŸ˜›

  7. Lindsay Howell

    I cried reading this! Thanks for sharing! Yes everybody can relate to this in some way! You DO ROCK! It’s moments like these that seem so hard and not worth but in the struggle you actually gain strength. That’s how we all grow! And that boy proved that sometimes you do have cheerleaders pushing you on and he was just the messenger of them! Thanks WHIT!

  8. Deanna

    It made my day. So glad to hear there are some good kids out there. And Whitney. YOU ARE THE BEST.

  9. Audrey Hutchison

    Oh Whitney, I love you dearly. Thank you for sharing such a special experience you had. I, like everyone had a good cry. Today I really needed your words of wisdom. Your photos and blogg are so wonderful. Thank you, thank you. So happy you are My friend.

  10. Alena

    You do rock!! Beautiful reminder–thank you sweet friend! And gorgeous pictures too! πŸ’œπŸ’šπŸ’™

Leave a Reply

