The Fat Lady Ain’t Sung Yet…

I’ve been asked by a hand full of MFP folks to discuss the difference between an atom and a molecule (coughcoughNOBODYCAREScoughcough) how I keep from backsliding on this weight loss journey.  The answer is fairly simple… take notes… paper and pen ready?  I DON’T!  I don’t keep from backsliding because I do backslide.  I can count on less than 2 hands how many pounds I’ve lost since January of this year.  It’s a slooooooooowwwww and arduous process this weight thing of late.  The difference between the newer Whitney and the old Whitney is that the new Whitney knows what this is… it’s my life.  This ain’t no temporary diet where everything is restricted to the maximum and I only eat 800 calories a day and then barf up at least 400 of those.  This isn’t a temporary diet where all I eat is lettuce leaves and cut out all processed foods and never eat anything with more than 2 grams of fat and life as I know it is over the moment a piece of chocolate crosses my lips.  It’s my life… and my life needs to be lived and enjoyed and there needs to be joy and hard work and fun.   Period… end of story.

If I had heard someone say this to me before the life thing “clicked” with me would I have done things differently… would I have gotten to this frame of mind sooner?  Doubtful.  I think it’s a process that is individual to each person and one day that little switch in the ole brainium is going to flicker on and you’ll be all like… Ohhhhhhh… is that how I need to do it!?  And then the heavens will open up and Kenny Loggins will sing Teddy Bear Corner whilst the angels do a jig in the background.  Oops… my bad… that was my weird dream from 3 nights ago.

I don’t think it’s realistic to say you will start your lifestyle change by cutting out everything you love… no fried foods, no sugar, no carbs, no joy.  It’s not  realistic.  To go from one end of the spectrum, eating fast food every day 3 times a day, to the other end of the spectrum, eating organically-grown turnip roots watered by the sparkling fountain of Athena, is about as probable as saying you’ll go to bed one day weighing 500 pounds and wake up the next morning having scored the gig of the newest twig-thin fashion model in NYC.  It’s just stupid!

Baby steps.

Forever and ever and ever… baby steps.

How about tackling one healthier goal per week or month.  Instead of saying I won’t… how about you say I will.  For example… make a vow that you will eat at least one vegetable a day for a week.  Sure, it’s not the recommended 3 to 5 fruits and veggies a day… but when your weekly vegetables included the lettuce they put on the Big Mac… that’s a huge step.  The next week you can add in another healthy goal… and another and another… until you find that you actually like the way you feel when you’ve accomplished those little things.

Secondly… sit back… shut up… and realize this thing is going to take some time.  The time is going to pass anyway… put it to good use slowly changing your brainium holder… the way you think is by far and away the hugest hurdle to cross.  Realize that there will be frustrations and backslides and times where you don’t lose a pound for months and months and months… but you keep going because this is your life and you can’t quit your life.  There is no such thing as failing at a lifestyle change.  Because you’ve changed… you may backslide on occasions or go back to the previous way of thinking… but that’s a temporary stint on your road because you have so much more to accomplish before you hit that ultimate goal of being at peace with yourself.  Because, really… the ultimate goal for any of us trying to lose weight is not the number on the scale… it’s about being comfortable in our skin… and there’s never a time limit for that.  Head up… feet moving… you got this.

Question of the Day:  What’s the one “healthy” goal you are going to make for yourself this week?  

 

16 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Diet

16 responses to “The Fat Lady Ain’t Sung Yet…

  1. Whitney, I want to reach through this computer and give you a hug right now… here goes (((hug))). Thank you for being so honest and sharing with everyone the reality of life. No one licks the problem and goes on without a hitch. This is a lifelong journey and there is no first place, second place and third… it just is what it is. Every choice we makes counts in life. If we are mindful of the smallest choices, the big ones come without struggle. The problem is when the small ones are overlooked.

  2. By the way, congratulations on the weight loss you’ve had since January. That’s a huge accomplishment! The average adult gains 1 1/2 pounds a year… always going “up” in weight. Loosing weight is like paddling upstream, it’s not only tough to do it, it takes stamina just to stand still! (I’m so thankful to have you as my cyber friend.)

  3. Lindsay

    Great reminder Thanks! You do have to choose a change and stick with it otherwise laziness takes control and weight gain shows up and oh no! There ya go again! Thanks!

  4. Avster

    I’ve been attempting to get into the habit of running/jogging a short distance each day… I’ve found do it less than more. :s

    Yes, I definitely agree in slowly making changes in a diet or whatever one is trying to changing. Changing something major in one giant step rarely works for a long period of time.

  5. Deanna

    You just brought tears to my eyes. This is exactly what I needed to hear because I am so frustrated with all of this as of late. I just feel like giving up and hitting the nearest Cheesecake Factory for comfort. It’s hard to work so hard and not feel like it’s done any good. You are right though. In the end, it’s about more than the number on the scale. We need to look within and be happy there.

  6. What a great attitude–You inspire me!
    I am trying to exercise every day and also add more fruit and veggies to my diet.

  7. jen

    What great advice! My goal is to eat at least 2 fruits and 2 vegetables daily.

  8. Susan

    Thanks for another great post! I’m in the midst of a plateau and the old me would give up and head for the donut shop. But now…just keep on plugging away and know that I’m making a difference.

    By the way, I did see Kenny Loggins last week and he sang Pooh Corner…we saw him perform at a benefit concert. Yes, I did the gopher dance when he sang “I’m Alright.”

    • Ha! Ironic that I would mention Kenny the same week you saw him! Pooh Corner used to make me cry every time I’d hear it! Plateaus SUCK! But they are definitely surmountable!

  9. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomToTwo

    Thanks for this blog post Whitney-I really needed the reminder.
    Since getting off that blasted 6wk plateau it has been coming off but one pound here and one pound there and it is making me crazy. I get so frustrated that more isn’t coming off at a time. Isn’t that stupid? Here I was complaining the scale wasn’t moving AT ALL for 6wks and now that it IS moving…it isn’t moving fast enough for me. UGH!
    This is such a mental thing.

    Question of the Day: What’s the one “healthy” goal you are going to make for yourself this week?

    Let’s see…
    More than 16 glasses of water each day.
    Taking regular supplements/vitamins( i have been bad about this ).
    Adding 2 tsp. of flax seed to my daily intake. ( Dr. Mark Hyman recommends this on his site ).
    Burning more than 4,000-5,000 calories this week ( i know i can do it b/c i burned over 6,000 last week).

Leave a comment